Social media is something we spend most of the time in if you look in the matter on an average basis. Facebook is something in which we literally update our daily life posting where did we go, in which restaurant did we eat, and even posting something in writing.

It was first launched in the year 2004 and we have seen plenty of updates throughout all these years where Facebook added features to edit photos, put facebook stories as Instagram does, commenting on posts and photos with stickers and adding gif files, and most importantly five ‘reacts’ other the normal traditional like button.

This platform has changed a lot with days and it is way more fun to use. This social media platform has updated a lot along with the security facilities.

The Security of Facebook

Being a social media platform Facebook pays a lot of attention to the security system. All the details that are the base of each and every account are well managed by Facebook. Facebook promises not to reveal any of these data to any other people.

You can even change your profile privacy from the Profile Settings option. If you keep your profile private, people will not be able to look for anything else in your profile except your profile picture. But, setting your profile privacy as public makes people able to see all the content of your profile except the login info.

You can even set privacy to your individual posts on your Facebook profile. Making it private will make that post appear on the timeline of your Facebook friends only. But, if you make the post or the photo public people from outside your friend list will also be able to see that particular photo or post.

People are still Facing Problems

There are few users of facebook who faced problems of profile hacking and are still facing. We have come a long way and with that science developed more than we all expected. Therefore, technology to hack a facebook profile has been made easier.

Hackers with the wrong motives can surely damage your profile. They can do that by including unnecessary posts or photos that go against the rule of Facebook policy.

Also, they might change the password of your profile. Then, you will not get any access to it anymore unless you have a recovery email ID or mobile number. This is how it is just a matter of a few steps to ruin the reputation of yours among your social media friends within seconds.

This is the reason Facebook has introduced a brand new security and privacy tool for a very serious caution.

Have you ever found any advertisement for any online shopping website showing the exact speaker you were looking for on the same online shopping website?

This is not anything casual. The activities which are similar to exploring different products on online shopping platforms get sent to Facebook.

The Matter we are Dealing with – “Off-Facebook Activity”

Facebook is able to track down what you are doing even when you are not active on Facebook. There are some applications and websites where they want your facebook login details to give you access to their site. This is why in some cases you might get notified about those sites on your Facebook timeline.

Facebook gets to know the products you are shopping for, the political interests you are dealing with. Also, it gets to know the places you are making donations, and even the porn you watch.

Facebook does this with the use of tools like Facebook Pixel. It is a small set of coding given of millions of websites across the whole Internet.

The social network uses that particular information for setting the target on you with personalized advertisements. It is a business model that is now worth billions of dollars.

Facebook is here to launch a very new feature related to the security and privacy of your profile. This feature is known as the “Off-Facebook Activity”. It says that this feature will allow you to see and control the data that apps and websites share with the social networking site.

But that model has also come under increased inspection. This took place because of the privacy advocates, lawmakers, and scholars continue to question why anyone should trust Facebook with their data.

What does this New Tool do?

The result of the Cambridge Analytica scandal which sparked the great privacy awakening in the whole world in the year 2018 was – Facebook promised the user that they would be capable of having more control over their private data and information using a tool called “Clear History”.

Facebook itself described what is “Off-Facebook Activity” and what does it do. The brand new tool of Facebook will allow you to view a summary of the information external applications and websites have been sending to Facebook with the help of a tool known as Facebook Pixel or the Facebook Login Service.

This tool will be able to remove the browsing history of the platforms the Facebook users are surfing outside Facebook. This is a feature that the CEO of Facebook, Mark Zuckerberg, promised to introduce soon on Facebook back in the year 2018.

Well, this announcement really took form a year later with the introduction of the feature mentioned above called “Off-Facebook Activity”.

Facebook users from Spain, Ireland, and South Korea to this particular tool at first. In the upcoming years, this feature will be open to all Facebook users around the world.

This Tool is a Helpful One

Off-Facebook Activity will let you know in short about the third party websites and software applications that share the history of browsing in their with Facebook and will also let you remove it.

This feature will also allow you to prevent Facebook to use those browsing histories for private advertisements on your newsfeed in the near future. It will include the Messenger as well as Instagram.

The chief privacy officer of Facebook, Erin Egan, and the director of product management, David Baser, mentioned in one of their blog posts that this latest tool could be having more effect on the business of Facebook.

But they also mentioned that it is very important to provide control over their own data but not complete control.

Facebook will continue to gather data and information even after you turn off the feature of Facebook to use your browsing history. It will still be connected to your Facebook account for two more days.

In one of the posts of the Help Center of Facebook, it clearly mentions a thing. “Your future off-Facebook activity will be disconnected within 48 hours from when it’s received. During this time it may be used for measurement purposes and to make improvements to our ads systems.”

Jay Nancarrow, the director of policy communications, said through an email that Facebook will be sending a notification to each and every user on this period of two days’ time when he or she will access the “Manage Future Security” option from the Settings option.

Jay Nancarrow also added to this statement that this caveat was incorporated in an engineering blog article Facebook published on the 19th of August, 2019, which gave a proper description of the development of the Off-Facebook Activity tool.

The Real Operation

After the activation of this tool, Facebook is not going to delete those browsing data immediately. They are going to remain even after 48 hours from the Facebook servers.

Facebook will just detach the browsing history data from your personal profile. Those data will still appear in the aggregated circumstances.

Jay Nancarrow said – “This way, we can do things like give advertisers reports on the effectiveness of their ad campaigns or give businesses aggregated site and analytics reports, such as how many women between the ages of 18 and 24 use their applications.”

Closing Remarks

Here is what that it all meant. Signing up for Facebook means you are agreeing to all the terms and conditions of this social networking site. You will have to delete your Facebook account if your account is being misused by trying to steal your identity.

So, this is what we had to speak about for now. Facebook is changing and this tool will definitely help the users to feel more secure about their privacy.

I hope this article was helpful enough. You will be able to use this feature in the latest updated version of Facebook. If you are using the lite version then you will be getting this tool a bit later.

Leave a comment below to let us know to what extent this helped you. Give us feedback and we will definitely appreciate a share.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *